8 best Iris Hermes Agent alternatives in 2026, hosted and self-run

Kurnia Kharisma
Written by

Kurnia Kharisma

Katelin Teen
Reviewed by

Katelin Teen

Last edited October 8, 2026

Expert Verified
Hand-drawn hero banner of a person holding a phone and pointing at a column of assistant chat bubbles, the last one showing a small home server that also sits on a desk beside them

Why people look for Iris alternatives

Iris deserves credit first. It is the fastest way I've found for getting Nous Research's Hermes Agent into iMessage: you text a number, tap one connection link when a job needs an app, and you're done. There is a free plan, Gmail is read-only, and anything consequential waits for a preview. I covered all of it in my Iris Hermes Agent review.

The reasons people leave are quite specific, and most of them come from Iris's own pages:

  • The September memory incident. Iris's incident report says leftover shared memory from the beta leaked names and employer details from 5 beta accounts into 7 replies to 2 other users, and it recurred the day after the first fix.
  • Hermes, minus the loop. To fix that, consumer profiles now run without Hermes's native memory, session search and cron. If the self-improving loop is why you wanted Hermes, Iris no longer gives you that part.
  • No self-serve export or delete. The same report lists full conversation export as not offered self-serve, and deletion is by email.
  • iMessage only, Google only. Iris is iMessage-first, so Android is out. Its connections are Gmail, Google Calendar, Linear and Slack, with no Outlook.
  • Fuzzy limits. Plus is $15 on the iMessage page and $19 on the personal assistant page, and "higher AI usage limits" has no number attached.

None of these is a dealbreaker for everyone, but each one points you toward a different alternative, which is also why the map below matters more than the ranking.

How I picked these alternatives

I started from the tools that do Iris's actual job, an assistant you message from your phone that handles email, calendar and small errands for one person, and every tool had to clear four bars:

  1. You can reach it over a messaging app, iMessage ideally.
  2. It connects to email and calendar, or you can connect them yourself.
  3. It publishes enough about pricing and data handling to judge it.
  4. It is available today.

Instinct breaks rule 4 because it is still invite-only, but in terms of comparisons it is the assistant people bring up with Iris most often, so I kept it at the end. I left out general chatbots like ChatGPT agents and inbox-only tools, since the point of Iris is that it lives in your texts. If that line feels blurry, this piece on AI agents vs chatbots explains the difference.

The first question is who runs the assistant. The second is where you can talk to it:

Hand-drawn 2x2 map with "you run it" to "they run it" on one axis and "iMessage first" to "many channels" on the other. Self-hosted Hermes and OpenClaw sit in you-run-it and many channels with a note that they need an always-on Mac for iMessage, Lindy and Martin sit in they-run-it and many channels, Folk, Poke and Instinct sit just right of center, and Iris, circled, sits with Orchid in they-run-it and iMessage first
Hand-drawn 2x2 map with "you run it" to "they run it" on one axis and "iMessage first" to "many channels" on the other. Self-hosted Hermes and OpenClaw sit in you-run-it and many channels with a note that they need an always-on Mac for iMessage, Lindy and Martin sit in they-run-it and many channels, Folk, Poke and Instinct sit just right of center, and Iris, circled, sits with Orchid in they-run-it and iMessage first

Iris sits bottom right. If you liked that corner and only want a different company, then stay near it, and if ownership was the problem you should look to the left.

Iris alternatives at a glance

ToolBest forWho runs itChannelsiMessage setupEmail and calendarWaits for approvalFree planCheapest paidTrains on your dataSOC 2
Iris (baseline)Hermes by text, no setupIris's cloudiMessageText a numberGmail (read-only), Google Calendar, Linear, SlackPreview before anything consequentialYes$15 to $19/moGoogle data not used for general modelsNot stated
Self-hosted HermesFull Hermes, your dataYou20+ via gatewayAlways-on Mac + BlueBubblesAnything you wire up, MCPYour rules: pairing codes, approvalsFree software$20/mo Nous Portal, optionalYour choice of providerNot applicable
OpenClawTinkerers who want pluginsYouMany, incl. Slack, Discord, TeamsSigned-in Mac running imsgAnything you wire upYour configFree softwareModel tokens onlyYour choice of providerNot applicable
PokeBroad automationsPoke (joining Cognition)iMessage, WhatsApp, TelegramText a numberGmail, OutlookNot statedYes$19/moYes, unless Maximum PrivacyNot stated
OrchidApproval on every sendOrchidiMessage, SMSText a numberGmail, Google CalendarYes, by defaultNo$29.99/moMay train your personal modelNot stated
LindyClosest hosted match + OutlookLindyiMessage, SMS, Slack, webText a numberGmail, OutlookYes$50 credits, 7 days$29.99/moNeverYes, Type II
FolkLowest priceFolkiMessage, Telegram, WhatsAppText a numberGmail, OutlookYesYes$9.99/moNeverNot stated
MartinCalling your assistantMartinCall, SMS, WhatsApp, email, SlackNot listedGmail, Outlook, Apple CalendarNot statedNo, 7-day trial$35/mo or $21 annualNot statedNot yet (2024)
InstinctErrands and purchasesInstinctiMessage, WhatsApp, callsText a numberGmailActs as your agentInvite-onlyNo public priceOn by default, opt-outNot stated

Hosted prices were checked on each vendor's pricing page on October 6 to 7, 2026, monthly billing unless noted. Here is the cheapest paid plan for each, next to Iris Plus:

Hand-drawn horizontal bar chart of the cheapest paid plan, billed monthly: Folk Pro $9.99, Iris Plus $15 to $19 marked as the starting point, Poke Pro $19, Hermes plus Nous Portal $20, Orchid $29.99, Lindy Team $29.99 and Martin Basic $35
Hand-drawn horizontal bar chart of the cheapest paid plan, billed monthly: Folk Pro $9.99, Iris Plus $15 to $19 marked as the starting point, Poke Pro $19, Hermes plus Nous Portal $20, Orchid $29.99, Lindy Team $29.99 and Martin Basic $35

Two things jump out here. Iris Plus is already one of the cheaper options, so price alone are rarely the reason to leave, and the self-hosted route only looks cheap if you already own a Mac that never sleeps.

Which Iris alternative fits you?

Pick the reason you're looking, and you'll get the one tool I'd try first.

Why are you looking past Iris?

Tap a reason to see where I'd start.

Self-hosted Hermes. Same engine as Iris, with native memory, session search and cron switched on. Your memory is two text files on your own machine. Budget an evening, plus an always-on Mac if iMessage matters.
Lindy. You text it like Iris, it connects Gmail and Outlook, drafts wait in your drafts folder, and it lists SOC 2 Type II. Watch the credit meter on heavy days.
Folk. A permanent free plan with unlimited chat, and Pro at $9.99 a month. It connects Gmail and Outlook and asks before it sends.
Orchid. Replies stay as drafts and calendar holds wait for your OK by default. Gmail and Google Calendar only, from $29.99 a month.
Poke or Folk. Both also work over WhatsApp and Telegram, so you don't need an iPhone. Poke has the wider set of app integrations; Folk is cheaper.
Instinct. It checks you into flights, books and buys things on its own computer. It's invite-only, personal use only, and it acts as your agent, so read the terms first.

1. Self-hosted Hermes Agent

Best for: people who liked Hermes and want the whole thing, on their own machine.

Hermes Agent homepage with the headline "The agent that grows with you" and a terminal install command, as taken from Hermes Agent
Hermes Agent homepage with the headline "The agent that grows with you" and a terminal install command, as taken from Hermes Agent

The most direct alternative to Iris is, in terms of the product, the engine that sits under it. Hermes Agent is Nous Research's open-source, MIT-licensed agent, and you install it on your own Mac, PC, server or VPS. Iris's own team says as much: one of its makers, Dan Krieger, wrote that "running Hermes yourself is still an option for people who want that level of control," per his X post.

Features

  • Native memory. Two small files per profile, MEMORY.md and USER.md, loaded into every session, per the memory docs. This is the part Iris switched off for consumers.
  • Skills and cron. Hermes writes reusable skills in the open agentskills.io format, searches past sessions and runs scheduled jobs.
  • 20+ channels. Telegram, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal, Discord and iMessage through the messaging gateway.
  • Any model. Bring Nous Portal, OpenRouter, OpenAI or a local model.
  • Access control. New contacts get a pairing code you approve, and memory writes can wait for your OK.

Pros

  • Your data never leaves your machine, and deleting the agent means deleting a folder.
  • You get the full self-improving loop that Iris turned off.
  • Off iMessage, setup is easy: a $5 VPS and a Telegram token will do.

Cons

  • iMessage needs BlueBubbles and "A Mac (always on)" signed into your Apple ID.
  • The docs warn the setup wizard may not enable the adapter, so it "will report success and the adapter will still never start."
  • You curate memory yourself. One tester found it verbose and said "it's all forgotten early in each session."
Hacker News

"it's been really good... having a competent agent with constant state has been good for memorializing and organizing important info."

Pricing

OptionMonthly cashWhat you supply
Free models$0A machine and your time
Nous Portal$20 for $22 of creditsA machine and your time
VPSAbout $5 to $6 plus model tokensYour time; still a Mac for iMessage

Portal pricing from Nous Portal. My Iris vs self-hosted Hermes comparison walks through the six iMessage setup steps and the real cost of your time.

My take: This is the pick if ownership was the reason you left Iris. Skip it if you don't own an always-on Mac and iMessage is non-negotiable. The deciding factor is whether an evening of setup sounds fun or like a chore.

2. OpenClaw

Best for: tinkerers who want a self-hosted assistant with a big plugin ecosystem.

OpenClaw, an open-source self-hosted personal AI assistant, as taken from OpenClaw
OpenClaw, an open-source self-hosted personal AI assistant, as taken from OpenClaw

OpenClaw is the other big open-source personal agent, and the one Hermes gets compared with most. Like Hermes, it is a free software you run yourself. Its docs even ship a "Migrating from Hermes" guide, which tells you how often people move between the two.

Features

  • iMessage through imsg. OpenClaw talks to Messages through a tool called imsg on "the same signed-in macOS Messages host," per its iMessage docs. BlueBubbles support was removed.
  • Many channels. Discord, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Matrix, Signal and Google Chat sit next to iMessage.
  • Plugins and skills. A Skill Workshop and the ClawHub registry for installing plugins.
  • Friendlier setup. Onboarding reuses your existing ChatGPT, Claude or Codex sign-ins, or local models.

Pros

  • Free and MIT-licensed, with a large community.
  • Missed iMessages replay automatically after a restart, with duplicates removed.
  • The widest channel list on this page.

Cons

  • Full iMessage features (replies, tapbacks, group actions) need the private API, which means disabling System Integrity Protection on the Mac.
  • The README says to "treat inbound messages as untrusted input." Security is yours to own.
  • Token bills are unpredictable, as my OpenClaw pricing post shows.
Hacker News

"Honest answer: OpenClaw still requires some tinkering, but it's getting easier."

Pricing

OptionPriceWhat you get
Software$0, MIT licenseThe full agent, every channel and plugin
ModelsYour provider's token ratesWhatever model you connect

There is no paid tier to buy. My OpenClaw review covers setup in depth, and OpenClaw alternatives lists lighter forks.

My take: OpenClaw is the pick if you want to self-host and care more about plugins than Hermes's learning loop. Skip it if disabling SIP on your Mac makes you nervous. The deciding factor is how much of the iMessage feature set you need.

3. Poke

Best for: one texting assistant across email, calendar and your other apps.

Poke's homepage headlined "Meet Poke, your new favorite contact" with a "Poke is joining Cognition" banner and a phone showing a casual iMessage thread with Poke, as captured from poke.com
Poke's homepage headlined "Meet Poke, your new favorite contact" with a "Poke is joining Cognition" banner and a phone showing a casual iMessage thread with Poke, as captured from poke.com

Poke calls itself "Proactive, private, personal, and right in your texts." It is the closest hosted twin to Iris in feel, and it is about to change hands: Cognition announced it is acquiring Poke's maker, saying users "can continue using the product just as before."

Features

  • Channels. iMessage, WhatsApp and Telegram, plus voice messages.
  • Email and calendar. The FAQ promises "full support for Gmail and Outlook inboxes, calendars, and contact sync."
  • Integrations. Notion, Linear, Todoist, Asana, GitHub and more, plus custom ones through MCP.
  • Poke Human. On Ultra, real-world tasks like reservations can go to a human operator.

Pros

  • A permanent free plan that still connects email and calendar.
  • Outlook, which Iris doesn't list.
  • Works off iPhone through WhatsApp and Telegram.

Cons

  • Its pages don't state an approve-before-send default.
  • The privacy notice says data is used "to train our artificial intelligence models" unless you pick Maximum Privacy.
  • No SOC 2 claim on the pages I read, and the acquisition adds some uncertainty.

"Just had the most surreal onboarding experience from Poke by @interaction ... this thing is extremely impressive."

Pricing

Poke's pricing page showing three plans: Free at $0 a month forever, Pro at $19 a month, and Ultra at $199 a month with pay-as-you-go usage beyond your credits, as captured from poke.com
Poke's pricing page showing three plans: Free at $0 a month forever, Pro at $19 a month, and Ultra at $199 a month with pay-as-you-go usage beyond your credits, as captured from poke.com
PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0, no cardAll apps, email and calendar; a lighter mode after the allowance
Pro$19/moFrontier models, background automations, higher limits
Ultra$199/moFrontier models on every action, Poke Human, pay-as-you-go

Prices from Poke's pricing page.

My take: Poke is the pick if Iris felt too narrow and you want one assistant for email, tasks and dev tools. Skip it if you need a documented approval step. The deciding factor is whether you'll turn on Maximum Privacy on day one.

4. Orchid

Best for: an iMessage executive assistant where nothing leaves without your OK.

Orchid's homepage, scrolling from the "Meet Orchid, your personal assistant" hero with an iMessage demo through the habits, admin and second-brain sections, as captured from orchid.ai

Orchid is an iMessage and SMS executive assistant from the YC S25 team behind the Zero email client. It sits in the same corner of the map as Iris, so it is the switch for people who like everything about Iris, except for the company.

Features

  • Approval by default. Replies stay as drafts and calendar holds wait for your OK, per the FAQ.
  • Morning digest. A daily summary of what needs you, plus meeting prep.
  • Google stack. Gmail, Google Calendar and Google Drive, plus Granola.
  • Flat price. No message meter.

Pros

  • The clearest approval model of any hosted tool here.
  • Flat pricing, so heavy days cost the same as light ones.
  • A 30-day refund if it doesn't fit.

Cons

  • No free tier and no Outlook.
  • The privacy policy says "We may train your personal model on your data," while marketing pages say it never trains.
  • No SOC 2 claim. My Orchid alternatives list covers tools with one.

Pricing

Orchid's blog post titled "Is Orchid AI Free? Pricing, Who Gets It Free, and What You Pay For," with the short answer that Orchid is paid, from $29.99/mo, flat, with no free tier, as captured from orchid.ai
Orchid's blog post titled "Is Orchid AI Free? Pricing, Who Gets It Free, and What You Pay For," with the short answer that Orchid is paid, from $29.99/mo, flat, with no free tier, as captured from orchid.ai
PlanPriceWhat you get
OrchidFrom $29.99/mo, flatThe full assistant, no message meter, 30-day refund

Orchid's only published price is in its pricing post. My Orchid AI pricing breakdown explains what the flat fee covers.

My take: Orchid is the pick if Iris's preview step was what you liked most and you want it stricter. Skip it if you need Outlook. The deciding factor is whether $29.99 flat beats Iris's $15 to $19 for you.

5. Lindy

Best for: the closest hosted match to Iris, with Outlook support and SOC 2.

Lindy's homepage headlined "Not an AI tool. A coworker." with a Try for free button, a note about $50 in free credits, and a Slack-style workspace where a teammate asks Lindy to debug ad spend, as captured from lindy.ai
Lindy's homepage headlined "Not an AI tool. A coworker." with a Try for free button, a note about $50 in free credits, and a Slack-style workspace where a teammate asks Lindy to debug ad spend, as captured from lindy.ai

Lindy started as a no-code agent builder and now pitches itself as an AI teammate. For someone coming from Iris, the part that matters is the assistant you can text. Its iMessage and SMS docs say "No app to install."

Features

  • Inbox triage. Lindy labels and archives incoming email based on your rules.
  • Drafts. "Every draft lands in your drafts folder for you to review, edit, and send," per the drafting docs.
  • Over text. Schedule meetings, get a meeting brief or a 7am daily briefing, the jobs in my AI scheduling assistants roundup.
  • Approvals. "Anything with outside impact waits for approval," per the pricing FAQ.

Pros

  • Gmail and Outlook, with 2 to 5 inboxes depending on plan.
  • SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA listed, and data "never used to train models."
  • 1,500+ integrations plus MCP for the bigger jobs.

Cons

  • Credits, not a flat fee. A reply draft costs between 2 and 250 credits.
  • Credits don't roll over.
  • Reviews are split on cost:
Trustpilot

"I managed to kill my months credits (3000) in one day!"

Pricing

Lindy's pricing page headlined "The teammate that punches above its price," showing a Free plan with $50 in credits, a Team plan at $29.99 a month for 3,000 credits, and a custom Enterprise plan, as captured from lindy.ai
Lindy's pricing page headlined "The teammate that punches above its price," showing a Free plan with $50 in credits, a Team plan at $29.99 a month for 3,000 credits, and a custom Enterprise plan, as captured from lindy.ai
PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0$50 in credits for 7 days, no card
TeamFrom $29.99/mo per active user3,000 credits, top-ups at $10 per 1,000
EnterpriseCustomHIPAA with BAA, SSO and SCIM, audit logs

Prices from Lindy's pricing page. My Lindy alternatives roundup tracks its plan changes.

My take: Lindy is the pick if you need Outlook or a compliance answer for your employer. Skip it if you hate watching a credit meter. The deciding factor is volume: a light inbox fits in 3,000 credits, a heavy one may not.

6. Folk

Best for: the lowest price, or a free plan that still handles email.

Folk's homepage showing a phone with an iMessage thread where folk says "yo i'm folk" and "yes, i literally just text you," set against a mountain backdrop, as captured from folk.com
Folk's homepage showing a phone with an iMessage thread where folk says "yo i'm folk" and "yes, i literally just text you," set against a mountain backdrop, as captured from folk.com

Folk is "just a contact in the messages app you already use," built by Nozomio, a San Francisco lab. One naming warning is worth to flag: folk.app is a different company that sells a sales CRM, and reviews you find for "folk" on G2 are about that one.

Features

  • Email. It connects Gmail and Outlook and "drafts replies in your voice," per its email page.
  • Approval. "You approve; folk sends."
  • Read-only mode. You can connect Google so it "can see but never send, edit or delete," per the privacy policy.
  • Own computer. Each user gets "their own private cloud computer," isolated from others.

Pros

  • The free plan has unlimited chat and every feature.
  • Pro costs less than Iris Plus.
  • Per-user isolated computers, which speaks directly to the worry behind Iris's incident.

Cons

  • It leans consumer: gym check-ins and wake-up calls sit next to email.
  • Outlook Calendar isn't stated, only Google Calendar.
  • Very little independent feedback yet. Even launch replies compared it with Hermes:

"What are the things that can be achieved by folk but cannot be done by OpenClaw or Hermes? If there are a few useful things, I will consider to switch"

Pricing

Folk's pricing page headlined "pick your plan" with a free plan at $0 a month and a pro plan at $8.33 a month on yearly billing, listing unlimited chatting, connected Gmail and Calendar, and phone call minutes, as captured from folk.com
Folk's pricing page headlined "pick your plan" with a free plan at $0 a month and a pro plan at $8.33 a month on yearly billing, listing unlimited chatting, connected Gmail and Calendar, and phone call minutes, as captured from folk.com
PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0, no cardUnlimited chat, 3 background tasks, 10 call minutes a week
Pro$9.99/mo or $99.99/yrSmarter engine, unlimited watchers and briefings, 120 call minutes

Prices from Folk's pricing page. My Folk pricing post has the full plan details.

My take: Folk is the pick if you want Iris's feel at a lower price, with Outlook mail. Skip it if you need executive-style meeting prep. The deciding factor is whether you want an assistant or an accountability buddy that also does email.

7. Martin

Best for: people who want to call their assistant, not only text it.

Martin's homepage headlined "Your personal AI agent" with a Try it now button and floating cards for a new email draft, reminders, to-dos and a calendar view, as captured from trymartin.com
Martin's homepage headlined "Your personal AI agent" with a Try it now button and floating cards for a new email draft, reminders, to-dos and a calendar view, as captured from trymartin.com

Martin is a YC S23 assistant its founders pitched as "a better Siri with an LLM brain," per their Launch HN post. You reach it by phone call, SMS, WhatsApp, email and Slack.

Features

  • Inbox. Up to 5 Gmail and 5 Outlook accounts, and it can "read, draft, and reply to emails on your behalf," per the inbox docs.
  • Calendar. Google, Apple and Outlook calendars, the widest support on this list.
  • Cc to Schedule. Cc Martin on a thread and it proposes times.
  • Briefings. A daily email digest and a morning briefing call.

Pros

  • Apple Calendar support, which no other hosted tool here lists.
  • You can phone it, which suits people who are driving or walking.
  • It texts and calls your contacts from its own number.

Cons

  • Its privacy policy and terms pages returned "Page Not Found" when I checked.
  • iMessage isn't one of its listed channels.
  • No SOC 2 as of 2024. A commenter on the launch thread put the worry plainly:
Hacker News

"I want this, but very concerned about the security and privacy - you're talking about getting my most personal of personals (email, calendar, messages, phone calls)."

Pricing

Martin's pricing page headlined "7 days free. Cancel Anytime." with Pro at $30 a month and Basic at $21 a month billed yearly, or $49 and $35 billed monthly, as captured from trymartin.com
Martin's pricing page headlined "7 days free. Cancel Anytime." with Pro at $30 a month and Basic at $21 a month billed yearly, or $49 and $35 billed monthly, as captured from trymartin.com
PlanYearlyMonthlyWhat you get
Basic$21/mo$35/moBasic models, limited proactive actions
Pro$30/mo$49/moAdvanced models, email triage and drafts

Prices from Martin's pricing page, with a 7-day trial. See Martin alternatives if the missing legal pages bother you.

My take: Martin is the pick if voice matters more than iMessage. Skip it if you want written privacy terms before connecting five inboxes. The deciding factor is trust.

8. Instinct

Best for: errands, bookings and purchases, if you can get an invite.

Instinct's homepage, a short block of text describing the personal assistant with a single "Text Instinct to get started" button, as captured from instinct.com

Instinct is the assistant people name most often next to Iris, but it does a different job. Iris handles small work tasks, while Instinct runs life errands on its own computer with your accounts: checking you into flights, ordering groceries, booking appointments. My Instinct vs Hermes comparison covers that difference in depth.

Features

  • Channels. iMessage, WhatsApp and phone calls.
  • Email. It reads your connected Gmail and can send from its own address.
  • Payments. Purchases go through one-time Stripe Link cards.
  • Proactive. It texts you first when something needs doing.

Pros

  • The most proactive assistant here.
  • Handles real-world tasks the email-first tools don't touch.
  • No published price yet.

"Instinct is the first AI product I've used that is truly proactively helpful. It's already checking me into flights, reminding me about reservations I forgot to cancel, etc"

Cons

  • Invite-only, so you may not be able to switch today.
  • Its terms appoint it "as your agent," with agreements "binding on you," and training is on by default with an opt-out.
  • Personal use only, so work email is out.

Pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
BetaNo published priceInvite-only access

My Instinct AI pricing post explains how it may make money instead.

My take: Instinct is the pick if you want an assistant that does things in the world. Skip it for anything work-related. The deciding factor is how much autonomy you'll hand over, which my Instinct AI review goes through.

Who holds your memory?

This is the question the Iris incident should make everyone ask, whichever tool you pick. An assistant that remembers you is only as safe as the place where that memory lives. Here is where each option keeps it, based on each vendor's own pages:

  • On your machine: self-hosted Hermes and OpenClaw. You can open, copy or delete it.
  • Isolated per user in the vendor's cloud: Iris now (per-phone profiles, fail-closed) and Folk (a "private cloud computer" per user).
  • In the vendor's cloud, used for training unless you opt out: Poke (unless Maximum Privacy) and Instinct (opt-out in settings).
  • In the vendor's cloud, not used for training: Lindy, whose data is "never used to train models."
  • In the vendor's cloud, trained only for you: Orchid, whose policy says it may train a personal model that is "Only yours."

Iris's own report has the line I'd tape above every agent builder's desk: "The assistant saying it verified durable memory is not evidence that it queried storage." Ask a vendor how isolation works, not whether it does. This AI data privacy primer lists the questions I'd start with.

For a wider menu beyond this list, see my AI personal assistants test or the best AI agents roundup.

If you'd rather stay self-hosted, I keep a list of the best open-source AI agents. If inbox triage is the main job, my AI email assistants guide is the better start.

When the messages are from customers

Here is the case that none of these tools fits. Sometimes the texts and emails you want an assistant for aren't personal at all. They're customers asking where an order is, or how to reset a password. A personal assistant drafts in your voice and waits for you, one person at a time. A support queue needs answers from approved knowledge, the same answer from everyone on the team, and a clear handoff when the AI isn't sure.

That's the gap Iris itself doesn't try to fill, and its public pages never mention a helpdesk. You can push self-hosted Hermes into support, but you build every piece yourself, which I walked through in Hermes for customer support.

The trial number from the top of this post is the reason I'd never point a personal assistant at a support inbox. An AI can sort tickets with 93% accuracy and still have most of its drafts rewritten, because a support team's tone and length are learned from the team's own sent replies, not from one person's style.

Try eesel

Every tool on this list is a personal assistant. eesel is a different hire: an AI teammate platform where you bring on ready-to-work AI teammates for specific jobs, today an AI helpdesk teammate and an AI blog writer.

If what you wanted Iris for was keeping up with customer messages, the helpdesk teammate is the one to look at. It joins Zendesk, Freshdesk, Gorgias and other helpdesks, learns from your help center and past tickets, and keeps each company's knowledge in its own workspace. That last part is exactly the isolation question the Iris incident raised, answered on day one.

eesel's reports dashboard for a helpdesk teammate, showing task volume over 30 days, trigger events by type, and approval and rejection usage per tool
eesel's reports dashboard for a helpdesk teammate, showing task volume over 30 days, trigger events by type, and approval and rejection usage per tool

Before it answers a single customer, you can run it over your historical tickets and see what it would have said. Start with drafts and check them, then only switch on sending when you trust it. And if you came to Hermes because you like driving agents from a terminal, the eesel CLI lets you or a coding agent like Claude Code check status, edit instructions and approve actions from the command line, the same workflow covered in my post on AI agent CLIs.

It's why eesel sits in my roundup of the best AI helpdesk software. If your support queue is the inbox you can't keep up with, Try eesel free on your own tickets.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best Iris Hermes Agent alternative?
If you want Hermes itself, run it yourself: self-hosted Hermes gives you native memory, session search, cron and full data ownership, and it reaches iMessage through BlueBubbles on an always-on Mac. If you want another hosted assistant you text, Lindy is the closest match with Outlook support and SOC 2 Type II. My Iris review covers what Iris does well first.
Is there a free alternative to Iris?
Yes. Self-hosted Hermes and OpenClaw are both free, open-source software, so you only pay for model usage and hardware. Among hosted tools, Folk and Poke both have permanent free plans that connect your email and calendar. Iris itself also has a free plan, as I covered in my AI personal assistants test.
Can I run Hermes Agent in iMessage without Iris?
Yes. Hermes Agent connects to iMessage through BlueBubbles, a free macOS server, but you need a Mac that stays on and is signed into your Apple ID. The setup wizard does not always enable the adapter, so check the config after. My Iris vs self-hosted Hermes comparison walks through each step.
Which Iris alternatives work with Outlook?
Lindy, Poke, Folk and Martin all support Outlook as well as Gmail. Iris connects Gmail (read-only), Google Calendar, Linear and Slack, with no Outlook on its public pages. Self-hosted Hermes and OpenClaw work with whatever you wire up. If Outlook is your main inbox, see my guide to AI for Outlook email.
How much do Iris Hermes Agent alternatives cost?
Cheapest paid plans on monthly billing run from $9.99 (Folk Pro) to $35 (Martin Basic). Poke Pro is $19, Orchid and Lindy are $29.99, and self-hosted Hermes with a Nous Portal plan is $20 plus your own hardware. Iris Plus is listed at $15 or $19 depending on the page. My Orchid AI pricing breakdown shows how flat and metered plans compare.
Is Iris Hermes Agent safe after the memory incident?
Iris published an incident report on September 19, 2026 after leftover shared memory leaked beta users' details into 7 replies. Consumer profiles now run without Hermes native memory, session search and cron, and each phone gets its own profile. Self-serve export and deletion are not available yet. For any AI tool that touches sensitive data, this AI data privacy primer lists what to check.
What is the difference between Iris and OpenClaw?
Iris is a hosted service built on Hermes Agent: you text a number and Iris runs the server. OpenClaw is free, open-source software you install and run yourself, much like Hermes, and it reaches iMessage through a tool called imsg on a signed-in Mac. My OpenClaw review covers the setup and the security trade-offs.
Can I use an Iris alternative for customer support?
Not well. Iris and the assistants on this list are built for one person's inbox and errands, with no helpdesk connections. For a support queue, a purpose-built teammate like eesel's AI helpdesk teammate plugs into Zendesk, Freshdesk or Gorgias and learns from past tickets. My post on Hermes for customer support shows what it takes to build that yourself.

Share this article

Kurnia Kharisma

Article by

Kurnia Kharisma

Kurnia is a software engineer and writer at eesel AI with two years of SEO experience, writing about AI tools, helpdesk software, and customer support. He pairs a developer's understanding of how these products are built with search-driven research into what actually ranks and resonates with the people searching for them.

Related Posts

All posts →
Hand-drawn hero banner of a person at a laptop thinking, with phone, calendar, email, chat and Slack icons around him, a colleague standing beside him and the Martin logo on an amber shape
Alternatives

8 Martin AI alternatives, sorted by why you're leaving (2026)

The best Martin AI alternatives in 2026, sorted by the reason people leave: background autopilot for less, security paperwork, iMessage, real workflows, or a shared support inbox.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaOct 8, 2026
Town AI alternatives hero banner in Town's rust red, a person working at a laptop while an assistant points to email, calendar and task icons
Alternatives

7 best Town AI alternatives in 2026, compared on price, approvals and teams

The best Town AI alternatives in 2026, from flat-priced texting assistants to inbox AI that never sends, compared on price, approvals and team plans.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaOct 7, 2026
Hand-drawn hero banner of three people chatting, one holding a phone, beside the round folk mascot on a bright blue shape
Alternatives

8 folk AI assistant alternatives for work email and teams (2026)

The best folk AI assistant alternatives for work email, from SOC 2 texting assistants to inbox AI that never sends, with real prices, free plan limits and privacy terms.

Rama AdiRama AdiOct 7, 2026
Hand-drawn hero banner of a person holding a phone at a fork in the road, with arrows branching toward several different assistant chat bubbles, an email icon and a calendar icon
Alternatives

8 best Orchid AI alternatives for your inbox and calendar in 2026

The best Orchid AI alternatives in 2026, from texting assistants that support Outlook to inbox-native AI that never sends, with real prices and data policies.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaOct 6, 2026
Hand-drawn hero banner showing a person texting the winged Iris mascot on a phone on one side and a person running an agent workflow on a laptop on the other
Trending

Iris Hermes Agent vs self-hosted Hermes: setup, memory, cost, and control

Iris Hermes Agent vs self-hosted Hermes: the same open-source engine, two very different deals on setup, memory, cost, and who owns your data.

Rama AdiRama AdiOct 7, 2026
Hand-drawn hero banner for an Iris Hermes Agent review, showing a person texting from an armchair while the winged Iris mascot hands tasks to three people on a blue shape
Trending

Iris Hermes Agent review: hosted Hermes in iMessage, tested on what matters

An Iris Hermes Agent review: what the hosted Hermes assistant in iMessage does, what Free and Plus cost, the September memory incident, and who should wait.

KiraKiraOct 7, 2026
A presenter showing eight AI product logos to two colleagues seated at a table.
Guides

8 ChatGPT alternatives worth using in 2026, by job

The best ChatGPT alternative depends on the job: writing, web research, Google work, Microsoft work, private deployment, or a defined operational workflow.

Rama AdiRama AdiJun 5, 2026
Illustration of a small team weighing several AI assistant options
Alternatives

The 8 best Marblism alternatives in 2026

A hands-on look at the best Marblism alternatives in 2026, from cheaper AI-employee bundles to tools that go deep on the one job that actually matters.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaAug 27, 2026
Line illustration of a person at a laptop with notes, email, calendar and checklist icons floating around an AI assistant
Alternatives

Saner.AI alternatives: the 10 best picks for 2026

Skai reads your Gmail, Slack and Drive, but it never writes back. I compared 10 Saner.AI alternatives on real pricing, platforms, and the job each one fixes.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaAug 17, 2026

Ready to hire your AI teammate?

Set up in minutes. No credit card required.

Get started free