Sign in with ChatGPT: how it works, which apps support it, and the limits

Rama Adi
Written by

Rama Adi

Katelin Teen
Reviewed by

Katelin Teen

Last edited October 1, 2026

Expert Verified
Hand-drawn illustration of a person holding a green ChatGPT key card in front of a row of open doors, with a weekly usage meter in the corner

What is Sign in with ChatGPT?

I build eesel's integrations, and because of that I spend more time than is probably healthy reading OAuth consent screens. This one is more interesting than most of them. The login part is boring on purpose, but the second permission quietly changes the question of who pays for AI.

OpenAI's help article on plan usage says it in plain terms: Sign in with ChatGPT lets you sign in to participating apps with your ChatGPT account, and "if you have a Plus or Pro plan, you can also choose to use your ChatGPT plan for AI requests there." Those eligible requests "count toward the ChatGPT Work and Codex usage included in your plan."

Devin's consent screen asking to connect ChatGPT, with a "Use your ChatGPT plan" toggle switched on, as shown in OpenAI's DevDay 2026 recap
Devin's consent screen asking to connect ChatGPT, with a "Use your ChatGPT plan" toggle switched on, as shown in OpenAI's DevDay 2026 recap

The sign-in half is not the new part, actually. OpenAI's release notes show it rolling out on July 29, 2026 with Airtable, GitLab, HubSpot, Notion, Supabase and Vercel. What DevDay added on top is the plan-usage half, which was announced in the DevDay recap as "use your allowance across 16 partners including Cognition's Devin, Notion, Vercel, T3, OpenClaw, and Dactyl, and control how much each can use."

There is no standalone launch post for it. The official story sits spread across the recap and two help articles, plus the developer docs, and that is part of why it got lost under OpenAI Dots, GPT-6.1 Sol and the new Pro 500 plan the same day.

It's also a separate thing from OpenAI Marketplace, which lets enterprises spend part of an OpenAI commitment on partner software.

The two permissions, side by side

The identity help article is careful about keeping these two apart: "You can complete identity sign-in without approving subscription sharing." Here is what each one hands over in practice.

Two permission cards: sign in shares name, email and profile picture, while using your ChatGPT plan counts AI requests toward your plan with a weekly cap, and chats, memories and API keys are never shared
Two permission cards: sign in shares name, email and profile picture, while using your ChatGPT plan counts AI requests toward your plan with a weekly cap, and chats, memories and API keys are never shared
Sign in onlyUse your ChatGPT plan
Who can use itAny ChatGPT user, globally, including Enterprise members (subject to admin settings)Plus and Pro only, in commercial apps
What the app getsName, email, profile picturePermission to send eligible AI requests billed to your plan
What it never getsConversations, memory, files, billing infoConversations, memory, an OpenAI API key
Cost to youNothingCounts against your existing plan limits
Where you manage itSettings, Security and loginSettings, Usage, App limits

Sources: help 20001410 and help 20001542.

How do you connect an app?

On the user side it takes about a minute. You start from the partner app, not from inside ChatGPT:

  1. Pick Continue with ChatGPT (or Sign in with ChatGPT) on the app's login page.
  2. Sign in to the ChatGPT account you want to use.
  3. Review the basic info the app will receive.
  4. If the app offers it, turn on Use your ChatGPT plan. You can skip this and stay signed in either way.

If you are already using the app, OpenAI says to look for the plan option in its account or billing settings (help 20001542).

Vercel's login page with Continue with ChatGPT listed alongside Google, GitHub, SAML SSO and Passkey, as shown in Vercel's changelog
Vercel's login page with Continue with ChatGPT listed alongside Google, GitHub, SAML SSO and Passkey, as shown in Vercel's changelog

One detail that trips people up is that signing out of the app doesn't stop it from using your plan. OpenAI spells this out directly, "Signing out of the app ends your session there, but does not disconnect the app from ChatGPT or stop its authorized use of your plan." To end it for real, you go to Settings, Security and login, Login connections, and disconnect there. Disconnecting doesn't reverse usage already recorded, and it also doesn't delete what the app has already received.

Which apps support Sign in with ChatGPT?

OpenAI's partner directory lists 21 names in three buckets. The "16 partners" figure from DevDay lines up with the 12 plan-usage apps, plus the 4 open-source tools.

Screen recording of OpenAI's Sign in with ChatGPT partner directory, listing apps with plan usage, sign-in only apps and open-source integrations, captured from learn.chatgpt.com
BucketAppsWhat you can do
Plan usage (12)Amp Code, Conductor, Dactyl, Devin, Hermes Agent, Hyperagent, Kilo Code, Lovable (coming soon), Notion, Vercel, Vorflux, WarpSign in and spend Plus or Pro usage
Sign-in only (5)Airtable, Canva, GitLab, HubSpot, SupabaseLog in only, no plan usage
Open source (4)OpenClaw, OpenCode, Pi, T3Any ChatGPT user can connect

The pattern jumps out: at least eight of the twelve plan-usage apps are coding or app-building agents. That makes sense when you look at where the feature came from. Codex's IDE extension and CLI already let you sign in with ChatGPT instead of an API key, and OpenAI's own docs describe plan usage drawing on "Codex / ChatGPT work usage." If you've been comparing Codex pricing against Claude Code pricing, this is the same allowance, only now you can take it with you.

The fact that HubSpot is sign-in only is worth a flag for support folks. You can log into HubSpot with ChatGPT just fine, but Breeze isn't drawing on your plan.

How do the usage limits work?

This is the place where the fine print lives, and honestly it's better designed than I expected, after reading plenty of ChatGPT reviews complaining about opaque limits. All of it sits in ChatGPT under Settings, Usage, App limits.

A weekly ChatGPT plan usage bar split between a coding agent, a notes app and a website builder, with a per-app cap from 10% to 100%, a plan limit marker, and credits off by default
A weekly ChatGPT plan usage bar split between a coding agent, a notes app and a website builder, with a per-app cap from 10% to 100%, a plan limit marker, and credits off by default

The rules, straight from OpenAI's help article and the developer docs on sessions:

  • Per-app weekly cap, 10% to 100%. "An app limit is a cap, not a separate pool of usage. It does not reserve usage for the app or increase your overall plan limits."
  • Plus shares one five-hour limit across every app. "Usage in one app contributes to the same five-hour usage total, and no app receives a separate allowance." The five-hour limit doesn't apply on Pro.
  • Credits are off by default. An app can use ChatGPT credits after you hit plan limits only if you allow it, and only if that app's cap is set to 100%.
  • Usage rates can differ. "Usage rates may differ between an app and ChatGPT," and nobody publishes a conversion rate. The only way you learn what a Devin session costs your plan is by running one.

That last point is the one I would keep an eye on. If you've got automatic credit purchases on, OpenAI warns "continued usage can result in automatic charges" and "you may not receive a separate notice." Also, the allowance this feature lets you spend elsewhere is the same one people were arguing about on launch day:

"Pre DevDay: $200 20x / AFTER DevDay: $200 10x / NOW: $500 for 25x. Thanks @OpenAI"

That reply was sitting second under the launch post from Tibo, who leads Codex at OpenAI. Before you route three coding agents through one Plus account, have a read of my breakdown of ChatGPT pricing so you know what the weekly pool actually holds.

What does each partner still charge you?

OpenAI covers the GPT tokens. Each partner decides on what else you pay for, and the answers vary more than the launch made it sound. Everything below comes from each partner's own docs.

PartnerPartner plan neededWhat your ChatGPT plan coversWhat still bills to the partnerWhen ChatGPT usage runs out
DevinSelf-serve Pro, Max or Teams; not Free or Enterprise (docs)GPT share of each session, except fast and priority variantsNon-OpenAI models in the mixFalls back to Devin quota, then on-demand credits
NotionBusiness or Enterprise workspace, members only (help)Notion Agent when you pick a specific GPT modelAuto mode and non-GPT models; Custom Agents not supportedAsks you to switch to Notion credits
Vercel v0Not specified (docs)Responses from supported OpenAI modelsImage generation, subagents, supporting workPauses generation, no auto-switch
AmpNone, free Hobby tier works (pricing)Low, medium and high modes (OpenAI models only)Ultra mode on creditsNot stated
DactylBuilder plan $20/month (site)All AI in builds, $0 token markupThe Builder subscriptionNot stated
HyperagentPaid plan from $20 (docs)Supported GPT model usageOther models, images, search, browser sessionsOptional fallback to Hyperagent credits

Two things stand out to me here. First, most partners split the bill rather than hand it all to OpenAI: Devin's docs say only the GPT portion is "billed only to your ChatGPT plan," while other models in its ensemble draw from Devin quota. Notion does the same through its model picker. Second, the enterprise tiers mostly get carved out. Devin excludes Enterprise accounts (for Desktop and CLI it recommends Fusion mode with GPT-6 Astra as lead), and Devin Teams links plans per user: "There is no shared team-wide ChatGPT plan."

Dactyl gives the clearest worked example, right on its homepage: ChatGPT Plus at $20 plus Dactyl Builder at $20 comes to $40 a month, against what it calls a typical $200 native tier. One wrinkle: Dactyl's FAQ says plan sharing is "ChatGPT Pro today," which doesn't match OpenAI's Plus-and-Pro wording. I'd check inside the app first before assuming that Plus works there.

What do developers actually get?

If you're on the building side, the headline is good news, while the fine print is more of a preview. The quickstart is blunt about access: "Sign in with ChatGPT is currently available to selected commercial partners through a limited trial. ChatGPT plan usage is available to all open-source partners and selected private clients."

Screen recording of OpenAI's Sign in with ChatGPT developer docs home page, with quickstart and client ID links, captured from developers.openai.com

So in practice the split looks like this:

  • Open-source and locally hosted apps like OpenClaw can ship plan usage now. Per the sign-in docs, "this direct flow needs neither a client secret nor a partner API key."
  • Paid or hosted apps fill in the interest form or talk to their OpenAI rep. Even builders using the Apps SDK for a ChatGPT plugin have to ask the partnerships team to switch the button on once they have built it.

Under the hood it is just standard OAuth with PKCE against auth.openai.com. Identity uses openid profile email. Plan usage adds offline_access resource.invoke chatgpt.tokens.use.direct, and the docs stress that "a valid ID token alone does not authorize ChatGPT plan usage." Access tokens last one hour and refresh tokens last 30 days, rotating on each refresh.

Inference goes through one endpoint only, the same Responses API behind the OpenAI Agents API, POST https://api.openai.com/v1/responses, with store: false and stream: true on every request. The preview limitations page is where I would spend most of my time before committing to anything:

AreaNot supported in the preview
Request fields15 fields, including temperature, top_p, max_output_tokens, metadata, prompt and user
MessagesExplicit system-role messages are rejected
Hosted toolsImage generation, file search, Code Interpreter, native computer use, hosted MCP and connectors, tool_search
InputsAudio and video input, the Files upload API, transcription
LifecycleNo notification when a user disconnects your app; no per-host revocation for sessions copied to a VM

If your product leans on hosted MCP connectors or file search, that's a rebuild and not a toggle. And because usage-limit errors like subscription_sharing_usage_limit_exceeded can land mid-stream, your app has to cope with a response that dies halfway through. OpenAI won't save you on this one: "OpenAI does not silently switch the request to another billing path." The documented fallback is the user's own API key, billed at normal OpenAI API pricing, if they choose it.

There are some branding rules as well. The quickstart asks for the label "Continue with ChatGPT" with "comparable visual prominence" to your other sign-in options, and the UI guidelines add a bold one on top: "Your app must clearly show which of its plans support ChatGPT plan usage."

Example Acme login card from OpenAI's help center, with a Continue with email button and a Continue with ChatGPT option below, as taken from OpenAI's help center
Example Acme login card from OpenAI's help center, with a Continue with email button and a Continue with ChatGPT option below, as taken from OpenAI's help center

What are people saying about it?

Not much, which is a signal on its own. Five Hacker News submissions about the feature, like this one, drew zero or one comment each; the real discussion happened inside the DevDay thread and on X. The sharpest take puts the whole thing in a different frame:

"sign in with chatgpt is a huge deal, and i don't understand why they framed it as auth when it's really openai expanding favored pricing to third parties and bundling services into the subscription..."

I think that's right. The login is only the wrapper, and the product is the bundle. Indie developers are the ones who see the upside first:

Hacker News

"Subscription sharing is going to be huge for indie apps that don't want to deal with token billing."

The competitive read is just as direct. Nobody in the threads could name an Anthropic equivalent for Claude plans, and people noticed:

"Sign in with ChatGPT is such an important announcement. Anthropic needs to match this soon or it's going to be a massive wedge."

There is some healthy skepticism too. One HN commenter pointed out that OpenAI "has explicitly allowed subscriptions to be used in 3rd party apps at least as long as I've been a subscriber" (ac29), so for the people already piping Codex auth into tools, this mostly formalizes what they were doing and puts a meter on it. If you're weighing ChatGPT against Claude for a coding setup, portability of the plan is now a real point on OpenAI's side of the ledger.

Where does Sign in with ChatGPT not fit?

Here's the shift I'd want a reader to leave with. Sign in with ChatGPT is a great deal for work that has one human, one account, and a session that ends. It's a poor fit for work that runs for a team or for customers, and also for work that runs while nobody is logged in.

Two-column split: Sign in with ChatGPT fits one person at the keyboard, coding agents and personal notes and docs, while work that answers customers 24/7, is shared by a whole team, or runs with nobody logged in needs its own billing
Two-column split: Sign in with ChatGPT fits one person at the keyboard, coding agents and personal notes and docs, while work that answers customers 24/7, is shared by a whole team, or runs with nobody logged in needs its own billing

The reasons are all in OpenAI's own rules:

  • It's individual. Plan usage belongs to one Plus or Pro account. Business and Enterprise plans can't share theirs with commercial apps, and partners like Devin say outright there's no team-wide plan.
  • It stops at the cap. When usage runs out, requests fail unless that person opted into credits. For a coding session that's a shrug, but for a customer waiting on a reply it's an outage.
  • It can be switched off by one person. Anyone can disconnect an app in settings, and the app isn't even notified.

Customer support is the clearest example. On a demo call this year, a technical evaluator at a hardware company asked whether eesel would fall back to some other ChatGPT when it didn't know an answer, and whether that could be turned off. That is exactly the right instinct to have. A support team running an AI agent needs to know exactly which model answers, from which knowledge, on whose bill, and none of that should depend on one agent's personal subscription.

That's why I'd price support AI per ticket or chat for the whole team, not per person. If you're sizing that up, my guide to AI customer service costs walks through the real numbers.

If you were hoping to bolt ChatGPT onto Zendesk AI or another helpdesk, ChatGPT for Zendesk and ChatGPT for HubSpot Service Hub cover what actually works today.

Try eesel for support work a ChatGPT plan can't cover

Sign in with ChatGPT is a smart way to stop paying twice for a coding agent. If the job is answering your customers, though, you want something that doesn't share one person's weekly cap. eesel's AI helpdesk teammate joins your existing queue in Zendesk, Freshdesk or Jira Service Management, learns from your past tickets and help center, and runs on its own team plan: a free tier with 100 credits, then $299 a month for 500, where a ticket or chat is one credit.

You can also see exactly what it did. The Reports view shows task volume, what triggered each run, and how many tool actions a human approved, so there's never a "which ChatGPT answered that?" moment. And if you live in a terminal, the eesel CLI lets you or a coding agent like Claude Code or Codex check activity, edit instructions and approve actions without opening the dashboard, which is a nice pairing with whatever coding agent your ChatGPT plan is now paying for. It's the same idea as an AI agent CLI, aimed at your support teammate. My terminal agents guide shows how that works.

eesel Reports view showing total tasks over 30 days, trigger events by type, and approval usage per tool for a Zendesk agent
eesel Reports view showing total tasks over 30 days, trigger events by type, and approval usage per tool for a Zendesk agent

Try eesel free, no card needed.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Sign in with ChatGPT?
Sign in with ChatGPT is OpenAI's login option for third-party apps. Anyone can use it to sign in with their ChatGPT account, and since DevDay on September 29, 2026, Plus and Pro subscribers can also let partner apps like Devin, Notion and Vercel spend their ChatGPT plan usage on AI requests. The two are separate permissions you approve one at a time.
Which apps support Sign in with ChatGPT?
OpenAI's directory lists 12 commercial apps with plan usage (Amp Code, Conductor, Dactyl, Devin, Hermes Agent, Hyperagent, Kilo Code, Lovable, Notion, Vercel, Vorflux and Warp), 5 sign-in-only apps (Airtable, Canva, GitLab, HubSpot and Supabase), and 4 open-source tools (OpenClaw, OpenCode, Pi and T3). Most plan-usage partners are coding agents.
Does Sign in with ChatGPT cost extra?
Not from OpenAI. Sign in with ChatGPT usage counts against the limits you already pay for on Plus or Pro, and an app can only dip into ChatGPT credits after you hit your limits if you switch that on. The partner can still charge its own subscription, for example Dactyl's $20/month Builder plan or Devin's paid plans. See ChatGPT Pro 500 for how plan allowances compare.
Can ChatGPT Business or Enterprise users use their plan in other apps?
Anyone, including Enterprise users, can use Sign in with ChatGPT just to log in, subject to admin settings. Spending plan usage in commercial apps is limited to Plus and Pro. Teams on ChatGPT Enterprise or team plans still need each partner's own billing for shared work.
What does an app see when I use Sign in with ChatGPT?
Signing in shares your name, email address and profile picture. Letting an app use your plan doesn't give it your ChatGPT conversations, memories, files or an OpenAI API key. You can disconnect any app under Settings, Security and login, but disconnecting doesn't reverse usage already recorded.
How do the Sign in with ChatGPT usage limits work?
In ChatGPT Settings, Usage, you can cap each app at 10% to 100% of your weekly usage. The cap is a ceiling, not a reserved pool. On Plus, one five-hour limit is shared across every connected app; Pro has no five-hour limit. If you burn through limits fast, compare Codex pricing and the API before upgrading.
Can I add Sign in with ChatGPT to my own app?
Open-source and locally hosted apps can integrate plan usage today using OpenAI's developer docs, with no client secret or partner API key. Commercial and hosted apps are in a limited trial and have to apply through OpenAI's interest form. If you need predictable costs at team scale, the OpenAI API is still the safer base.
Can a support team run an AI agent on Sign in with ChatGPT?
Not in any practical way. Plan usage is tied to one person's Plus or Pro account, shares that person's limits, and stops when the cap is hit. A support agent that answers customers around the clock needs its own billing, like the eesel AI helpdesk teammate, which runs on monthly credits for the whole team.

Share this article

Rama Adi

Article by

Rama Adi

Rama is a software engineer at eesel AI with two years of experience writing about B2B SaaS, AI tools, and customer support technology. Based in Bali, Indonesia, he brings a developer's perspective to product comparisons — cutting through marketing copy to what the integrations and APIs actually do.

Related Posts

All posts →
Hand-drawn illustration of a developer at a laptop watching a speedometer needle race into the fast zone while a fuel gauge beside it drops toward empty
Trending

ChatGPT Pro 500 review: 25x the usage, and Ultrafast spends it 8x as fast

My ChatGPT Pro 500 review: I timed Astra Ultrafast against Standard, did the usage math on the 8x meter, and worked out who the $500 plan is actually for.

KiraKiraOct 1, 2026
Hand-drawn illustration of a person thinking beside a smiling round agent sitting on a stack of price tags next to a usage gauge, on a violet background shape
Trending

OpenAI Dots pricing: what a dot really costs, plan by plan (2026)

OpenAI Dots pricing starts at $100/month on Pro, but a two-seat Business workspace can be the cheaper route. Every plan, the usage rules, and what's priced later.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaOct 1, 2026
Hand-drawn illustration of a reviewer with a clipboard grading a document page made of a text block, a chart block, and a prompt button, while a friendly robot edits one block
Trending

ChatGPT pages review: block by block, which parts are ready

A block-by-block ChatGPT pages review: Prompt blocks and Ask for change are strong, Visualize is slow, and pages have no export or version history yet.

Rama AdiRama AdiOct 1, 2026
Hand-drawn illustration of a person and a friendly robot editing one shared page made of a table, a calculator block, a prompt block, and comments
Trending

ChatGPT pages: how they work, who gets them, and what they can't do yet

ChatGPT pages are OpenAI's new shared documents inside Space. Here's how to make one, what every block does, how sharing works, and what's still missing.

KiraKiraOct 1, 2026
Hand-drawn illustration of a storefront of business tool icons with a buyer handing over a coin, representing OpenAI Marketplace
Trending

OpenAI Marketplace: how it works, who's on it, and the fine print

OpenAI Marketplace lets enterprises spend part of their OpenAI commitment on 32 partner tools. Here's how the money flows, who's listed, and what's unpublished.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaOct 1, 2026
Hand-drawn illustration of a developer at a laptop connected to a smiling cloud that links a repository, a shielded sandbox box, and a findings list, with a second person looking on
Trending

Codex Security Cloud explained: how OpenAI's security agent works

Codex Security Cloud scans your GitHub repos, checks new commits, and tests each finding in a sandbox. Here's how it works, who gets it, and what it costs.

KiraKiraOct 1, 2026
Hand-drawn illustration of two teammates and a friendly robot working together over one shared board of pages, checklists, and charts
Trending

ChatGPT Space explained: what it does, who gets it, and what's not live yet

ChatGPT Space is OpenAI's new shared workspace for pages, files, and agents. Here's how it works, which plans get it, and which launch features are still coming.

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaOct 1, 2026
Illustration of three stacked subscription cards with a lightning streak and a usage gauge, representing the ChatGPT Pro 500 tier
Trending

ChatGPT Pro 500: what $500 a month actually buys in 2026

ChatGPT Pro 500 is OpenAI's new $500/month tier with 25x Plus usage and Ultrafast. Here's the per-unit math, the 8x Ultrafast burn, and who it's really for.

Rama AdiRama AdiOct 1, 2026
ChatGPT for Work review cover illustration in ChatGPT teal
Trending

ChatGPT for Work review: is it worth it in 2026?

A hands-on ChatGPT for Work review: what the Business and Enterprise plans cost, what the new ChatGPT Work agent does, and where it fits (and doesn't).

Kurnia KharismaKurnia KharismaJul 10, 2026

Ready to hire your AI teammate?

Set up in minutes. No credit card required.

Get started free